To be a leading center for science education, research and development in Nigeria.


To promote excellence in teaching, research and scholarship

To provide high quality degree programmes and research of international standards to develop the scientific perspective of the students and to meet natioanal needs and aspirations

To foster collaborations with academic institutions and professional bodies within and outside Nigeria

To impact positively on the local and professional communities thereby increasing their awareness of the university

Faculty of Science

Faculty of Science, Northwest University is one of the four Faculties the university started with, it has Five Departments;

  1. Department of Biological Sciences
  2. Department of Chemistry
  3. Department of Computer Science
  4. Department of Mathematics
  5. Department of Physics

The faculty has 4 well equipped laboratories;
Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Biochemistry labs.

The faculty has the following as Head of departments;.

  1. Dr. Tijjani RufaĆ­ Buhari HOD Biological Science
  2. Dr. Amina Salihi Bayero HOD Chemistry
  3. Dr. Lawan A. HOD Computer Science
  4. Dr. Ibrahim Abdullahi HOD Mathematics
  5. Dr. Fatima S. Koki HOD Physics